Disaster Assistance Available for Small Businesses

Sacramento, CA

– Small, nonfarm businesses in 15 Arizona counties and neighboring counties in California,

Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico and Utah are now eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the

U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA). “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused

by drought beginning January 1, 2012,” Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.


Arizona counties: Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, Navajo,

Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz, Yavapai and Yuma;


California counties: Imperial, Riverside and San Bernardino;


Colorado county: Montezuma;


Nevada counties: Clark and Lincoln;


New Mexico counties: Catron, Cibola, Grant, Hidalgo, McKinley and San Juan;


Utah counties: Kane, San Juan and Washington.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered

agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private,

nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to

help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.

These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of

30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the

adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.

Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Governor Jan Brewer.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural

enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA

disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at



Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling

SBA toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing

disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA’s Web site at


. Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

The deadline to apply for these loans is

March 12, 2013.

SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841