FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT JURY DUTY:

Who is qualified to serve as a juror?

Gila County jurors must be at least eighteen (18) years of age; be a United States citizen; be a
Gila County resident; never been convicted of a felony; unless the juror’s civil rights have been
restored; not be currently adjudicated as mentally incompetent or insane.

Who can be excused from jury service?

Pursuant to A.R.S. 821-202, only persons age 75 years of age or older, persons having a serious
mental or physical condition (a jury duty Medical Excuse Form filled out by a licensed medical
provider or licensed nurse practitioner must be provided upon request), peace officers currently
employed by the state of Arizona or a political subdivision of the State and certified by APOST
(Arizona Peace Officer Standards), persons unable to understand or speak the English Language,
and other persons whose absence from their reqgular place of employment would, in the
judgment of the court, tend materially and adversely to affect the public safety, health, welfare
or interest; or if, service as a juror would, in the judgment of the court, impose an undue
hardship upon that person. Requests to be excused from jury service are rarely granted and, in
particular, excuses are not granted on the basis of religious beliefs, moral beliefs, or professional
or business status.

How long is my term of service ?

Minimum is one (1) day or one (1) jury trial. Persons impaneled as a Grand Juror must serve one
day per week for a period of 120 days.

What is the rate of pay?

Under state law, jurors selected for trial receive $12.00/day plus mileage. All others receive only
mileage. If the trial lasts more than five (5) days, additional compensation may be given.
Vouchers can only be cashed at the Gila County Treasurer’s Office.

How will | be notified?

Most of the time you will be notified by mail, so you need to check your mail daily. It will be
your responsibility once you are notified to call the Courthouse in Globe, (928) 425-3231 or 1-
800-293-4452, Extension 8500, to verify your need to attend. You cannot leave a message on
this extension; you must call 8558 to speak to a person.



What about my vacation plans and doctor’s appointments?

You must notify the jury commissioner’s office before your scheduled date of appearance that
you wish to be excused from service.

What about my employer?

You will be given a work certificate to present to your employer to show the dates you were
present for jury duty. Under Arizona law, an employer cannot dismiss an employee nor refuse to

allow an employee to serve, and service shall not affect vacation rights nor seniority.

Does my employer have to pay me while I serve on jury duty?

No, although some employers do pay their employees. However, employers may not refuse to
permit their employees to take a leave of absence from their employment to serve as a juror.
State law (A.R.S. 8 21-236) prohibits an employer from discharging or in any manner
discriminating against an employee for taking time off to serve as a juror if the employee, prior
to taking time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer of the requirement to serve as a
juror.

How can | make a decision when | don’t know anything about the law?

You are not required to know anything about the law. You do not need any special skills or legal
knowledge to be a juror. The Judge will instruct you as to the laws that apply in each particular
case.

After my term of service is over, will | be called again?

It is possible to be called again; however, Arizona law provides that you need not serve more
often than once every year. If you serve on a jury panel, you are exempt from serving again for
two years. If it has been more than two years since your last service, you are required to appear
for jury duty again, regardless of how many times you have served in the past.

If I live in Payson, why can’t | just serve there instead of coming to Globe?

Current Arizona law requires that jury trials be held at the County seat.

What if | move or change my telephone number?

You must keep the jury commissioner’s office informed of any change of address or telephone
number or anything that will affect your ability to serve.



Can | serve if | have a physical disability?

Yes. If you will advise the jury commissioner’s office of your disability, special arrangements can
be made to accommodate most disabilities.

How long do the trials last?

90% of the trials last from one to three days.

Are we allowed to take notes during the trial?

We will provide you with notebooks and encourage you to take notes as long as you are able to
do so without missing testimony.

How are prospective jurors selected for jury service?

Jury Service is not voluntary, but is a civic duty imposed upon all citizens by statute. The list of
names that is used to call people for jury duty is created from the County’s voter registration list
and Arizona Department of Transportation records. Names are randomly selected form the
county’s population by a computer program.



