
Star Valley Magistrate Court 
714 S. Beeline Hwy. #103 
Payson, AZ 85541 
8:30 to 4:30/928-474-5267 
Your citation has a notation that identifies it as either 
civil or criminal. If you received a criminal citation, you 
must contact the court for instructions. This bond card 
contains information for those who have received civil 
citations. The following information describes the three 
options available to you for the citation you received, or 
you may appear in court at the date and time shown 
above your signature on your citation. If you have 
multiple charges on your citation, you will need to 
indicate your choice for each charge, whether option 1, 
2, or 3. 
Failure to appear in court on the date listed on your 
citation, or failure to complete one of the other options 
listed below may result in the issuance of a warrant for 
your arrest, a driver license suspension, and/or 
additional monetary costs being imposed. 
Option 1 -- Defensive Driving Program 
Arizona statutes provide that under certain 
circumstances, a person may divert a traffic violation 
(one charge or violation) 
through attendance at a defensive driving class. 
 If you choose to attend: 
1. You need not appear in court for that charge. 
2. The charge will be dismissed. 
3. No fine will be assessed for the charge. 
4. No points are added to your driving record for the 
   charge. 
Eligibility: 
You may be eligible for diversion of a charge through 
completion of a defensive driving class if you have not 
attended a defensive driving class for any Arizona 
violation dated within the immediate twenty-four 
months prior to the current violation for which you wish 
to attend, and at least one of the violations you are 
charged with is a civil traffic moving violation, and your 
citation was not issued as a result of a collision in which 
any person was seriously injured or killed, and your case 
has not already been set for a hearing. 
All these conditions must be met. 
* You will not be allowed to attend if you have 
commercial driver’s license.  
 
 
 

If you wish to attend, you must do the following: 
1.Call 1-888-334-5565 or choose school online 
at:www.azdrive.com  , go to quick links: 
Defensive Driving Schools 
The School will determine your eligibility,                       
register you for a class, and report your 
attendance  to the court upon completion. 
2. Complete the class at least 10days prior to your court 
date. 
3. Online fees vary and test required 
4.Class room fee:$181.00; provide a copy of your 
citation, show your Driver’s License or Photo ID to the 
instructor, and pay the class fee by Cashier’s check or 
Money order prior to class 
 
If you complete the Defensive Driving class, you need 
not appear at the court on that charge. 
If you received multiple charges on your citation, 
only one can be dismissed through Option 1. You 
must decide whether to plead responsible for, or 
request a hearing to contest, each remaining charge. 
Indicate your choices by completing the sections for 
Option 2 and/or Option 3 as per the instructions. 
Make certain you indicate your choice 
for each remaining charge on your citation. 
Option 2 -- Pay your Fine By Mail 
(Enter a Plea of “Responsible”) 
If you complete this section you are admitting 
responsibility for the violation(s). The court will enter a 
judgment of  responsible and will report the findings to 
the Motor Vehicle Division. Points will be assessed to 
your driving record for any moving violations. 

 

1. Find your violation code(s) on the attached Fine/Bond 
schedule, and purchase a cashier’s check, or money 
order for the total amount(s) shown .  If your violation 
code does not appear on the schedule, you must contact 
the court. Make the cashier’s check or money order 
payable to the Star Valley Court.  DON’T send cash or 
person checks 

3. Fill in the payment information (over) for the 
charges you wish to plead responsible. Print the name 
of the person who received the citation EXACTLY as it 
appears on the citation. 

4. Detach this card, place it and the payment in the 
envelope provided and affix the correct postage.  

 

 

Mail the payment at least five business days prior to 
your court date  

Payment Information 

Complaint #(Upper Left Corner) 

Violation Date: 
__________________________________ 

Court Date 
______________________________________ 

(Bottom of Ticket) 

Name: 
__________________________________________ 

(Print) 

Current 
Address:__________________________________ 

City/State/Zip: 
__________________________________ 

Method of Payment: 

Money Order Cashier’s Check 

5. Please read and sign the following statement: 

I hereby plead responsible to the charge(s). 

Signature: 
______________________________________ 

If minor, guardian name & Signature 

Name: 
__________________________________________ 

Signature: 
______________________________________ 
  



Option 3 -- To Request a Hearing by Mail 
Complete the following ONLY if you wish to contest 
the charge(s) before a judge or hearing officer. Note: 
Setting a hearing results in the loss of your privilege to 
attend a defensive driving class for violation dismissal. 
 
1. Write the complaint number that appears in the upper 
left hand corner of your citation in the spaces provided 
below, and indicate the charges for which you want to 
set a hearing by circling the letter that corresponds 
to that charge on your citation. 
 
Complaint Number 
Charge Number: (circle) A B C D E 
2. Read and sign the following statement: 
I am not responsible for the charge(s) noted 
above; 
I request a hearing to contest the charges. 
Signature: 
________________________________ 
3. Provide the following information (please 
print). 
Name: 
__________________________________________ 
Address: 
________________________________________ 
City/State/Zip: 
__________________________________ 
Daytime Phone: 
__________________________________ 
4. Check one of the following: 
 
_________I will be represented by an attorney. 
 
_________I will not be represented by an attorney. 
 
5. Detach this portion and place it in the provided 
envelope 
along with your citation. Mail the envelope and 
request at least five business days prior to the court 
date shown above your signature on the citation, or 
at least ten days prior to your court date if you 
intend to be represented by an attorney at 
trial/hearing. 
 
 

6. You will be notified by mail of your hearing date. 
You must appear on the date assigned by the court. 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Notice: 
This publication is available in large format or on 
audio tape. 
If you need special accommodations, due to a disability, 
for your appearance in court or for attendance at a 
defensive driving class, please call: 
For court appearances, call the Court at (928) 474-
5267. 
For defensive driving classes, call [ “notify the 
defensive driving school’s registration personnel that 
an accommodation will be needed”]. 
Please make all requests as early as possible to allow 
time to arrange the accommodation. 
 
Star Valley Magistrate Court 
714 S. Beeline Hwy. # 103 
Payson, AZ 85541 
928-474-5267 / 8:30 to 4:30 
www.gilacountyaz.gov 
 
Bond/Fine Schedule 
If your violation is not listed, you must call the court 
prior to your appearance date. If you are under eighteen 
years of age, a guardian must appear in court with you. If 
you wish to find out if your violation is eligible for 
Defensive Driving call the Defensive Driving School listed 
in Option 1. 
 
CDL LICENSE-NOT ELIGIBLE FOR TRAFFIC 
SCHOOL 
 
28-701.02A1/28-701.02A2/28-701.02A3 
NOT ELIGIBLE FOR TRAFFIC SCHOOL 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1-1-15 
 
 
 

 
TRAFFIC 
*28-702.01A 65 IN A 55 (NO POINT VIOLATION)...........$ 62.45 
FOR 28-701A With accident ……………………$170.00 
 
28-701A SPEED SEE CHART BELOW 
28-710A 
28-702.01,B ,C, D 
SPEED UP TO 10 OVER 
…………………………………………………….…$192.00 
11 to 15 MPH OVER..........................................$212.00 
16 to 20 MPH OVER...........................................$235.00 
21 to 25 MPH OVER...........................................$281.00 
26 to 30 MPH OVER...........................................$310.00 
31 to 40 MPH OVER...........................................$405.00 
28-644A1.............................................................$147.00 
28-710B ..................................Fine doubles in chart above 
 
*28-645A3A Mandatory Traffic School ..............$199.00 
*28-647.1 .....Mandatory Traffic School ..............$199.00 
28-704A/28-704C .................................................$173.00 
28-721A.................................................................$190.00 
28-726.A1/28-726.A3 ...........................................$392.00 
28-727 ....................................................................$296.00 
28-729.1/28-729.2/28-729.3 ..................................$173.00 
28-730A..................................................................$184.00 
28-754A..................................................................$141.00 
28-771A..................................................................$173.00 
28-855.B .................................................................$199.00 
28-891A..................................................................$173.00 
28-907A..................................................................$133.00 
28-909A1/28-909A2................................................$ 53.30 
28-2153A (W/Proof $0) .........................................$150.00 
28-2158C (W/Proof $0) ..........................................$150.00 
28-2532A (W/Proof $160.00)..................................$587.00 
28-3151A ................................................................$127.00 
28-3169A ................................................................$127.00 
28-4135A, B, C (955.00 Drivers License and Registration 
suspended for 3 months - with 6 months policy, fine is 
$162.00 ) 
28-4139A (Reduced to $209.00 W. Proof)      ........$587.00 
Fines paid after your court date must include an 
additional $20 
time payment fee. 
* A.R.S. 28-645A3A & 28-647.1-State Law Requires all 
persons to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS) who are 
found responsible for a red light or flashing red light 
violation, unless they are eligible and attend Defensive 
Driving School. If you are required to attend TSS, you will 
receive notice from the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) 
that will provided specific 


