Clerk of the Court

Jury Duty Service

In Arizona's rural counties, Clerks of the Superior Court serve statutory duty as the Jury Commissioner for their counties. The Gila County Jury Commissioner provides the Superior Court and Justice Courts with a sufficient number of qualified jurors. These jurors serve both civil and criminal trials, as well as serving as Grand Jurors.

If summoned for jury service, you will serve as an officer of the court along with the judges and lawyers. Your service as a juror is important and it is your duty to do this honestly and conscientiously. Jury service and the right to a jury trial in a criminal proceeding are a fundamental duty and right of all United States Citizens. 

  Qualifications of Juror
  • Between 18 – 75 years of age
  • Citizen of the United States
  • Resident of the county you are summoned to serve
  • Not currently found to be incompetent or mentally insane by a court of law
  • Never been convicted of a felony, unless your civil rights have been restored
  Eligibility Process of Qualified Jurors  
  • Random selection from Motor Vehicle Department and Voter Registration.
  • Questionnaire mailed 4-6 weeks prior to service.
  • Complete the Jury Questionnaire Online or return by mail within 10 days of receipt.
  • The Jury Commissioner establishes eligibility.
  • Is eligible to receive a jury summons for one year or until service.
  Reporting/Selection of Jurors
  • Jurors need to report to the assigned court facility on time.
  • If selected, you will sit on the jury until the end of trial.
  • If not selected, you will be excused at the end of the day and not be summoned again for a period of 1 year.  If selected you will be exempt for 2 years.
  Dress Appropriately
  • Jurors are advised to dress in layers when reporting for jury duty.
  • Shorts and tank tops with inappropriate logos are not considered proper attire.
  Fees
  • Jurors appearing and released the first day that have not been selected on a jury will be paid mileage only.
  • Jurors who have been selected for the jury panel will receive $12.00 per day plus mileage. Mileage is paid from your residence to the court. The rate is set by the State of Arizona.
Failure to Appear
A juror who is summoned and who willfully and without reasonable excuse fails to appear for jury service may be found by the court to be in contempt and is subject to penalties provided by law.
  Common Questions about Jury Duty
 Gila County Jury Brochure  Medical Excuse Form