
  
                
            JURY SERVICE

. 

 Please check in on time.  It 
takes at least 30 minutes to 
process the names and print 
out the lists for trial.  Those 
who are late delay this 
process. 

 Remember that jury service is 
the responsibility of good 
citizens. 

 Resist negative thoughts about 
service and your verdict. 

 No matter what others think 
about the verdict, your 
opinion is the only one that 
matters. 

 Sometimes it takes a lot of 
courage to serve on a jury.  
Some cases may be quite 
demanding. 

 After serving on a trial, it may 
help to talk to family 
members and friends about 
your feelings and reactions in 
order to put your jury 
experience in perspective. 

       
         FINAL THOUGHTS 
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SUPERIOR COURT 

 
 

 

What if I move or change my telephone 
number? 

You must keep the jury commissioner's 
office informed of any change of address 
or telephone number or anything that will 

affect your ability to serve. 
Can I serve if I have a physical disability? 

Yes.  If you will advise the jury 
commissioner's office of your disability, 
special arrangements can be made to 

accommodate most disabilities.  
   Are we allowed to take notes during 

                                    the trial?
                          We  will provide you with notebooks and 

                           encourage you to take notes as long as you 
                           are able to do so without missing 

                            testimony. 

 

 

What about my employer? 
You will be given a work release slip to 
present to your employer to show the 
dates you were present for jury duty.  

Under Arizona law, an employer cannot 
dismiss an employee nor refuse to allow 
an employee to serve, and service shall 
not affect vacation rights nor seniority. 

  Does my employer have to pay me while 
I serve on jury duty? 

   No, although some employers 
                          do pay their employees. 

                                   How can I make a decision when I 
                                  don't know anything about the law?

                                  You are not required to know anything 
                                  about the law.  The Judge will instruct 
                                  you as to the laws that apply in each 

                                  particular case. 
                                  After my term of service is over, will I 

                                  be called again? 
It is possible to be called again;        

   however, Arizona law provides that                                   
you need not serve more often than  

                        once every two  years. 
                                   How long do the trials last? 

                                  90% of the trials last from 1-3 days. 

 

  
How long is my term of service? 

Minimum is one (1) day or one (1) 
jury trial. 

 
What is the rate of pay? 

Under state law, jurors selected for 
trial receive $12.00/day plus 

mileage.  All others receive only 
mileage.   Vouchers can only be 

cashed at the Gila County 
Treasurer's Office. 

 
How will I be notified? 

Most of the time you will be 
notified by mail, so you need to 

check your mail daily.  
Occasionally, you may be notified 

by telephone.  It will be your 
responsibility once you are notified   

to call the Gila County Jury Line, 
(928) 402-8500 or 1-800-304-4452, 
Extension 8500, to verify you received
your summons and your need 

to attend. This extension is for
verification only; you must call

(928) 402-8558 to speak to someone.
 

                   What about my vacation plans 
                   and doctor's appointments? 

                   You must notify the jury 
              commissioner's office  
          before your scheduled date 
         of appearance that you wish 

to be excused from service. 
 




