
Victim Compensation  

If you are a victim of a violent crime or the next of kin of a victim who has died as the 
result of a criminal act, you may apply to Gila County's Crime Victim Compensation 
Board to recover certain expenses. This money comes from surcharges and penalties 
that are paid by criminals. Victims may apply to recoup losses paid for:  

 Medical or dental expenses 
 Mental health counseling 
 Funeral and burial costs 
 Lost wages 
 Crime Scene Clean-up 

Arizona, like every state, administers a crime victim compensation program that 
provides financial assistance to victims of both federal and state crimes. Gila County’s 
Crime Victim Compensation Board determines awards through an application process. 
Each Board is comprised of appointed volunteers selected from citizens of the 
respective county.   

The Crime Victim Compensation Board does not compensate for loss of property or 
property damage. There are conditions which must be met to be eligible for 
compensation, and eligibility does not guarantee an award. Upon Board approval, an 
innocent victim or a secondary victim (a person who is affected by the crime) may 
receive compensation.  The maximum award of any single claim is $20,000. 

Eligibility 
 
The general criteria for eligibility are as follows:  

 The victim is victimized in Arizona, or is an Arizona resident who is victimized in an area 
that lacks a crime victim compensation program, or is a victim of international terrorism. 

 The crime is reported to a police agency within 72 hours of the discovery of the crime 
unless good cause is shown to justify a delay. 

 An application is filed within two years of the discovery of the crime, in the county in 
which the crime occurred, unless good cause is shown to justify a delay. 

 The victim or derivative victim willingly cooperates with law enforcement agencies. 
 The victim or a derivative victim suffers physical injury, a medical condition, extreme 

mental distress, or death as a direct result of the criminally injurious conduct. 
 The victim or derivative victims incurs economic loss as a direct result of the crime that is 

not covered by a benefit or advantage that the person is entitled to receive from a 
collateral source. 

The Compensation Program cannot cover:  

 Attorney Fees 
 Property Loss or Repair 
 Pain and Suffering 



 Victimization of a person serving a sentence of imprisonment or who has escaped 
imprisonment in a detention facility, home arrest, or work furlough program. 

Awards may be reduced or denied in the following situations:  

 The victim or derivative victim recouped the economic loss from a collateral source. 
 The victim bears some degree of responsibility for the cause of injury or death through 

negligence or intentional unlawful conduct, if that conduct substantially provoked or 
aggravated the incident causing the injury or death. 

 The victim has not fully cooperated with the appropriate law enforcement agency. 
 Compensation program funds are insufficient to make an award. 

To obtain an application or receive more information on Crime Victim Compensation, 
contact the Gila County Victim Compensation Coordinator at 928-402-8836 located at 
155 S. Broad Street, Globe, AZ.    

Put link in for Application  

For your convenience, you may also complete the Victim Compensation Application 
online at the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission (Victim Services) Website. 

http://www.azcjc.gov/vccms/ 
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